Local Round Up

 

I reckon this has been one of the most challenging years so far for me, and frankly given the conversations I’ve had with folks recently, both pagan and not, for pretty much everyone else too. That probably ought to be a blog post all on it’s own, so no more on that as I have some local news I need to get out there.

Firstly welcome to newer readers, I know I’ve redirected a few from the Earthlore Moot chat, and at least one I met at the  MK Moon Moot 🙂 Hail and Welcome.

Due to the aforementioned Challenging Year the hoped for expansion and update didn’t happen –  yet – obviously, but it will.

So firstly those of you who are on the relevent groups will have seen the upsetting post that Pagan Pride Anglia had to be postponed until next year, I know many folks put in a heck of a lot of work towards bringing Milton Keynes it’s first Pagan festival, but alas, this year is not the right time. The team are, instead, aiming for next summer for the festival to make it’s debut, and are in talks with Milton Keynes Parks Trust working for that to go ahead. I know that the local pagan community owes Hendrika and her team a big thanks for the work they have put in so far, the fundraising, and for laying the foundations for what will be built on next year. Find Pagan Pride Anglia on facebook (look right for the link —->  ) to hear the lastest news on what is to come, and if you feel like helping out your community, talk to Hendrika via messenger on FB to see what she needs for next year’s event. Hendrika, sorry it didn’t work out this year, but a longer planning time means a better event!

 

The second bit of news is a lot happier – Bedfordshire is finally getting it’s own Moot again!! YAAAAAY! Not only that but it will be run by a lady who has organised them before, coz let me tell you I know how hard they can be to organise.

For those not sure, those who are newly walking their path a Moot is a meetup of pagans, usually held at a pub because it’s a public place (ie safe)  The word is Anglo Saxon and means ‘meeting for debate’ which in pagan speak is ‘meeting to catch up with friends, meet others and generally be a group of people of a like mind’ The idea is we all congregate, chat, get to know each other and build community. In these uncertain times I’d say that building community is a pretty crucial thing to do at the moment. I know there are seekers out there who are hesitating about taking that first step – I’ve replied to quite a few of you on various groups and direct messages – I know it’s a big first step, akin to stating to the world that ‘I believe I am pagan and identify with this group, this tribe’ Trust me I was there once..and have met people attending their first Moot many times as well. My advice? Just do it. Yes it’s daunting, especially if you’ve always been brought up to believe that Paganism is either ‘bad’ or you’re ‘stupid’ for believing as you do, but believe me there are others out there like you.  and at the very worst you can order a drink, watch us for a while and see if we look like folks you want to talk to, and if today is not your day then just walk out. No pressure. Also we don’t bite, and turning people into Toads isn’t allowed in public anyway………… and just to prove that we are perfectly reasonable people – here’s the Pagan Federation link to attending meetups and taking that first step into the wider community. Paganfed Contact Guide

So – more details!

 

bedfordshire pagan moot sign

Now I am not affiliated with the organisation of this moot, just super excited to be getting a bedfordshire moot again! Its literally years since I’ve attended one, over ten I believe..

From the facebook page;

This is held on the 1st Sunday of each month from 3pm onwards, at The Half Moon Pub (Address: High Street, Kempston, Bedfordshire, MK42 7BN). We are a family friendly Moot, welcoming all paths & traditions, new comers and old hands alike. Children also welcome ~ large family garden. There will be speakers and discussions in a friendly atmosphere over a drink or two! For further details contact admins: Queenie Easton, Simon Easton or Christina Nicholson.

The admins can be found on the link to Facebook 🙂 The venue is ten minutes by car from bedford, possibly fifteen to twenty by bike. Twenty five mins by car from Milton Keynes.

goes on to say

Simon and I have found the perfect place to hold the Bedfordshire Pagan Moot. It’s a traditional British Pub, with a separate bar lounge area, which we have been told we can have to ourselves. Plenty of seating, undercover smoking area outside, large car park and children’s play area. One feature that we wanted for this moot, was for it to be family friendly whereby children are also welcome. It is still a traditional moot, but we ourselves recognise it is hard to get child care, hence the time and day.

Once we are up and running, we will be organising talks, discussions, outside events, trips to interesting sacred sites and family camping etc.

The Land lady is called Nicki, said that all the half Moons displayed in the pub have been donated to them over the 17 years since they have been there. There are so many half moons to look at….. We hope you enjoy the venue at The Half Moon. Warmest Blessings Queenie, Simon and Christina )O(

 

Moot half moon pub

moot wall

moot astrological

Pretty exciting times! For a long while I’ve worried that while MK has the Moon Moot, the Earthore is no longer viable as it was, Bedfordshire needs something of it’s own. Hopefully this will be the first step to a long running moot that we can all meet up at and have a good old chat. See you at the first one!

 

© – 2017 – SDB and QAE – all photos by Queenie Anne Easton. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

 

 

About okarnill

Just another british Witch who follows the path of the wise. Like millions of others I live my life the best I can within my Wiccan beliefs. I am also a horse rider, a dog trainer and an artist. My home is a sleepy village in the UK where I share my life with my partner and all manner of creatures, cats, dogs, horses, hens, rabbits, and much treasured wildlife.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Local Round Up

  1. Hendrika says:

    Thank you so much for this Sue, Pagan Pride Anglia have discussed the possibility of a monthly moot also.

Leave a Reply

