To Dance under the Moon

Photo © J Harvey – Moon seen from Northern Ireland 29/10/12

The White Moon Charge

I am the beauty of the green earth, and the white moon among the stars

and the Mystery of the waters and the desire in the hearts of Man

and I call unto thy soul to Arise and come unto me

For I am the soul of nature who gives life to the Universe

From me all things proceed and unto me all things must return

Before my face, beloved of Gods and Men, may thine innermost divine self be enfolded in the rapture of the infinite,

Therefore let my worship be in the heart that rejoiceth, for behold, all acts of love and pleasure are my rituals.

Therefore let there be

Beauty and Strength

Power and Compassion

Honour and Humility

Mirth and Reverence

within thee,

and those who seek to Know me know this, that thou seeking and yearning shall avail ye not unless thou knowest the Mystery

If that which thou seekest thou findest not within thee, thou shalt never find it without thee,

For Behold, I have been with thee from the beginning and I am that which is attained at the end of desire.

(Doreen Valiente)

The White Moon Charge – words of power spoken during full moon rites, and words uttered by me this evening under the brightest Hunter’s Moon I have seen for years. The sky was a dark mystical blue (which makes me think I seriously need to redo that header art.. ugh!)  pale gray and silver clouds chase each other from north to south. One of those nights when even the those not walking a magical path feel the energy in the air, the frission of the power of this time of year, of the turning season and the beginning of the Dark Half of the year. A time of Mystery and Hidden Things.

I’d only gone out to put the horses away intending to do something later before I went to bed, but Moon’s like that call to you in a song that runs in your veins and dances through your bones, a demanding, beguiling, sweet call that insists you listen, draws you in, lures you until you follow, dance (despite the six inches of mud) sing and revel in her Power.

Have you heard the song? have you been called from your bed where you sank, grateful for warmth and comfort after a long day, only to relax and then realise that an insistent little ..something.. energy vibration? voice? whatever you name it it calls,  demanding, ‘get up! ‘come outside, dance with me’.  Witches align themselves to the turning tides of Earth and Moon, Sun and Season, and that means you follow when they call, sometimes you have no choice.

On nights like this the most powerful magic is conjured with no preparation or planning, it’s called from your heart, your mind and your soul, as you ride the tidal wave of energy.

I stood, ankle deep in mud with the sound of two horses chomping hay in their stables and just gazed, There was *just* enough cloud to be ‘that picture’ you always see in the media at Samhain – the Witch flying across the full moon with the clouds scudding with her.

My connection didn’t need to be searched for, it was there and waiting to be brought into focus, thundering into my mind, my being, in a powerful rush that almost knocked me breathless. Around the moon a corona is sparkling and shining, diamond dust of ice and water that plays it’s colours across the clouds and, occasionally – a glimpse in the clear sky of the true corona we will see in later months when it’s colder. The predominant colour is red, deep and rich. Oranges and yellows, green and pink, all the colours of the rainbow are shown if but for an instant, but the Red stays, the colour of life, blood, vitality, blood links, blood ties to our Ancestors…

The clouds, whipped and sculpted by the wind are changing shape almost faster than I can follow. Searching for some way of honouring this moment the famiiar words come unbidden into my mind, words of Power whispered to the wind that whips around me, shaking the autumnal leaves bathed in silver from their precarious moorings on the tall Ash and Willow trees that surround me, and words that lead to deeper connections, before I know it the clouds are forming shapes and a ridiculous but miraculous conversation between me and the Dieties is going on – (who was it wrote the blog about sounding like an idiot..??) Questions are posed and answered, a shape here, the formation of a rabbit there, a horse, a gibbon which transforms to a mans head seen in profile (the message was ‘you are evolving’ in case you think I’ve flipped completely) I am transfixed, spellbound, caught between Mirth and Reverence when a picture so ribald but so relevent flashes before me and is swiftly resculpted to the next message. Oh the Gods have a sense of humour that’s for sure!

The moment passed, the night returned to it’s normal moonlit splendour, the greyhound reminded me that she Hadn’t Been Fed Yet and the horses remarked that since I was standing like a loon and moon gazing perhaps I could come to and switch the stable lights off so they could sleep? The cockerel, Sid (as in Vicious) grounded me further with his evening crowing and could I please shut his door so he could go ‘off duty’ as it were. Yes the night had returned to it’s normal routine, outwardly perfectly normal – ”nothing to see here, move along please,”  but inside? Inside I have the knowledge and wisdom of that coversation, to be pondered, mulled over, thought through and learned from.

Sometimes you have to sieze the moment or the opportunity is lost forever. If the Moon calls you tonight be sure to answer her!

Blessed Be!

About okarnill

Just another british Witch who follows the path of the wise. Like millions of others I live my life the best I can within my Wiccan beliefs. I am also a horse rider, a dog trainer and an artist. My home is a sleepy village in the UK where I share my life with my partner and all manner of creatures, cats, dogs, horses, hens, rabbits, and much treasured wildlife.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Dance under the Moon

  1. Wendy S. says:

    That was so beautifully written! I wish I lived closer so that we could celebrate the coming of the seasons and sacred days together. Thank you for this post I felt I was right there with you.

Leave a Reply

