Making a start – aka ‘the reasons behind the name’

Hello and welcome to the Ride the White Horse blog, you may have wondered here believing it to be a blog about horses, which indeed it may be, but also Paganism, Wicca, Witchcraft, general discussion, chat and observations on life, also humour but that would depend how you read it!

Firstly regarding the name, there are several reasons for this,  I come from a land of mist and forests and ancient pathways which meander over hills as old as time, on those hills are often carved white chalk horses. The most famous is at Uffington. The druid Damh the Bard wrote a lovely song called Spirit of Albion and in this is the line ‘ride the white horses carved into the hills’ – that struck a chord with me, not least because of my forty year obsession with all things equine, but because my connection with the land is intrinsicly linked to horses. White horses especially have much magical lore attached to them, although horsepeople will tell you that a horse is never white it is grey – and indeed regardless of what your eyes tell you they would be right! but no one told the folklorists who recorded that a white horse was considered lucky, a shoe from a white horse was a talisman of great power, and the ancients of this land chose to carve horses (to quote the wonderful Terry Pratchett ‘it ain’t what a horse looks like, it’s what a horse be’) into the hills that could only be seen by the Gods.

The horse has been held sacred in these isles since time immemorial, when others chose to eat them, we did not.  Instead we carved their image into the hills and held them as special, sacred and to be honoured. The UK had the first ever animal welfare society in the form of the  Horseman’s Word where it’s members were required to hold to the highest level of care of their charges.

Still with me? well done! Another reason for the name is that within shamanism the drum is the spirit horse that the practitioner rides to journey within, something that all magical practitioners do in the interests of self enlightenment and spiritual enlightenment.

The third reason is that for thirty of my forty years I owned a beautiful white horse (well pony lol) with whom I rode the local land and gained many insights into the spirits of nature we share our land with. I hope to bring you some of what I learned on those far distant rides to this blog, and in honour of my lad, now sadly passed to the summerland in december 2011 this is the name I chose.

A bit about me is probably a good idea about now, I’m forty, female, horse mad and also an initiated Wiccan. In this blog I hope to share some of my thoughts and ideas, some of the wisdom I have gained, and also – which was the main point of setting it up – to participate in the Pagan Blog Project 2012. So to start with there will be the required posts regarding this week’s letter, (I’ve missed A, B and C but will hopefully come back to them) amidst much rambling from me.
And if you made it to the end of that have a cookie!

About okarnill

Just another british Witch who follows the path of the wise. Like millions of others I live my life the best I can within my Wiccan beliefs. I am also a horse rider, a dog trainer and an artist. My home is a sleepy village in the UK where I share my life with my partner and all manner of creatures, cats, dogs, horses, hens, rabbits, and much treasured wildlife.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

